Bihar Polls: Tejashwi Yadav is Opposition’s CM candidate, RJD to contest 144 seats, Congress gets 70 seats

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Tejashwi Yadav has been backed as the face of the multi-party coalition and unanimously chosen as the Chief Ministerial candidate of the opposition alliance in Bihar Assembly Election 2020.

According to the seat-sharing agreement that has been agreed upon by the alliance partners ahead of the three-phase election starting on October 28, the RJD will contest on 144 seats, while the Congress will contest from 70 seats. Notably, the 70 seats which Congress have been given is nearly twice as many as it had contested in the 2015 assembly polls in alliance with the RJD and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s JD(U). 

The Congress will also be fielding its candidate in Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha seat where by-poll will be held on November 07. The Left parties will be contesting in 29 seats. While the CPI(ML) has been given 19 seats, CPI has got 6 and CPI(M) 4.

Yadav vowed to dislodge the government headed by Nitish Kumar, whom Congress leader Avinash Pandey in his address accused of “apharan” (hijacking) of the mandate in the previous elections. The JD(U) chief had fought 2015 elections opposing the BJP led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi but ended up re- aligning with the saffron party, Pandey said.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *